The Yumyum Tree

Released in 2009

The Yumyum Tree is the twelfth studio album by the English band Ozric Tentacles, released on 27 April 2009. It is inspired by Lewis Carroll’s poem Jabberwocky.



About The Yumyum Tree

One of the most influential bands to emerge from the UK’s festival scene, the Ozrics layer ambient and ethereal landscapes with freeform dub trips, incredible rave grooves and psychedelic progressive rock. It’s an open exploration of music and the soul.

For over 25 years, the Ozrics have experienced the vicissitudes of the rock and roll life. The band has flourished through a number of line-up changes, spawned several side projects (including Eat Static and Nodens Ictus), created their own record label (Dovetail & Stretchy), put out close to 25 albums, scored a hit record and sold over a million albums worldwide. And yet, the basic motivation behind the band’s existence never wavered.

A campfire at the Stonehenge free festival in 1983 witnessed the birth of Ozric Tentacles. It was there that synth player Joie Hinton, stumbled upon brother’s Ed Wynne (guitar) and Roly Wynne (bass), performing in a band known at the time as Bolshem People, along with drummer Nick ‘Tig’ Van Gelder (Jamiroquai). From that very first jam session, a musical compatibility was evoked that has since been a trademark of the Ozric Tentacles. It’s a signature blend of hippy aesthetics and raver electronics with spiralling guitars, textured waves of keyboard and midi samplers, and supergroovy bass and drum rhythms.

The Yumyum Tree proved that despite being over 25 years into their career the band were still a force to be reckoned with, keeping their instrumental excellence and delivering an especially MIDI-powered phantasmagorical musical world.


All tracks written by Ed Wynne.
Recorded 2006-2008 in Somerset, England
Tracks 3, 5 & 8 recorded at Mooncalf Studios, Wiltshire, England
Mastered by Jas Mitchell at Loud Mastering
Cover art by Boswell
Ed Wynne – guitars, synths, programming…
Brandi Wynne – keyboards, “airy areas” (effects)
Vinny Shillito – bass guitar
Roy Brosh – drums
Dominic Gibbins – darbuka (on Plant Music)

Special thanks to:
Joie Hinton & Mervyn Pepler for their help on tracks 4 & 8