Released in 1994

“Spicy, evocative, and hypnotic, Arborescence is an unpredictably joyous record.” – AllMusic



About Arborescence

Arborescence is the fifth studio album by Ozric Tentacles. It was released in 1994 on Dovetail Records. Arborescence was rereleased in 1999 on Snapper Music, this time with sleeve notes by Andy Garibaldi.

The band’s last release to feature Merv Pepler and Joie Hinton, who left to form Eat Static, Arborescence was the Ozrics’ fifth studio effort in as many years. Soundscape textures remained their focus and their strength, with the now trademark Steve Hillage-esque guitar, gurgling and whirling synths and tight rhythm section all wrapped around rave, techno, African and Middle Eastern influences.

The tracks alternate between between the power driven (‘Myriapod’, ‘Shima Koto’, ‘Astro Cortex’), classic Ozric Tentacles space rock (‘Dance of the Loomi’, ‘There’s a Planet Here’, the title track) and those with an ethnic flavour (‘Al-Saloog’). The powerful music here, embellished by plenty of synth dweedling and strong rhythm patterns, takes the listener of open mind and free spirit to somewhere speical. Classic Ozrics then.


Ed Wynne – guitar, synth
Joie Hinton – synth
John Egan – flutes
Mervin Pepler – drums, percussion
Zia Geelani – bass